For starters

Hi there! You have officially reached the first post of this blog. 😉

Since you are reading this, I take it you a. know me, b. want to know more about my travels to Madrid, or c. randomly stumbled upon this because you’re bored. Either way, thanks for passing by, and enjoy the content¹: I hope you’ll find it to your liking. 

My name is Engelina, and I have created this blog as a way of keeping in touch with everyone on my travels without continuously texting and calling. After all, who has time for that on Erasmus²?!  In my case, I will be a proud student of Universidad Complutense de Madrid (UCM or complu for short) for about six months. These include an additional summer course Spanish, learning how to live on my own without going home for laundry service (thanks mum), only returning for Christmas break, and taking all-Spanish classes and exams. In other words, it’s a crash course in adulthood 101.

On the 6th of September I will leave Belgium’s (so far) dreary summer to spend the next 2 seasons in sunny Madrid. Hello dresses and skirts in November! Luckily, I won’t be completely on my own the first week; my dearest boyfriend Javier is accompanying me to make sure my yet-to-pack suitcases and I don’t fall on our way to my yet-to-book room.

With an ever-growing packing and to-do list (packing small has never been my greatest feat and only 20kg for 6 months sounds like a nightmare), a few resits and a lot of friends to say goodbye to, I’m slowly but surely getting ready for an experience of a lifetime.

Wish me luck!

 

 


(For the people wondering what those little numbers are doing there: sometimes I mention things I know only a few might not be familiar with due to being from of another generation, living in another country, or speaking a different language.)

¹ Because not everyone who might want to read this will speak Dutch, I’ve chosen to write in English. It’s not my native language though, so if you ever spot a mistake, please let me know!

² Erasmus+ is the EU’s programme to support education, training, youth and sport in Europe. Its budget of €14.7 billion will provide opportunities for over 4 million Europeans to study, train, gain experience, and volunteer abroad.

Leave a Reply

