Tabaco y Chanel

Since I started this blog only a small week ago, I’ve had quite a few people asking me what ’pappellietjannél’ means. Aside from making me giggle, it also made me realise that my choice for the title of this blog may not be as clearcut as expected. Less people than I initially would have thought (read: only 2) get the reference. So first, before you do anything else, listen to this song (warning, it’s in Spanish):

Nice song, right? It’s also a relatively (considering we still listen to music composed literally decades or even centuries ago) old song. It was the second song on Bacilos’ first album, fittingly also named Bacilos. This Latin band from the USA was very successful and even won the Grammy for Best Latin Pop Album two times. However, my favourite song out of all their hits is the one above; Tabaco y Chanel. It was Javier (two mentions in the two first posts already, what a lucky guy) who introduced me to this small piece of lyrical art.

Now, back to the question at hand: why papel y chanel? It won’t come as a surprise to the people who know me that I absolutely despise smoking, in any way, shape or form. So no matter how much I love the song, the title only fits me half. (The other half being Chanel °5: powdery soft and my signature perfume.) That’s when I started thinking about the things I also like: music, books, art, friends and family, dance. Now I’m sorry for all those friends and family, but what really caught my eye from this list were the books. Reading: my favourite pastime ever since I learned the alphabet. Writing this blog is definitively a part of that: only 26 letters make up every single story I’ve ever read or written. And believe me, that’s a LOT of time and a LOT of stories. So what could be more fitting than naming my blog after something that makes up about 75% of my personality?

There you have it: papel y chanel.
A reference to the things I love, and myself.

2 thoughts on “Tabaco y Chanel

Leave a Reply

