Finally at ease

Long time no read! My excuses for the radio silence. There was so much to do, so many people to meet, so many places to visit, so many things to take care of… This post was actually written over the course of the last few days in a few short, stolen moments. But I have to say, Madrid is treating me well! The people I meet are all incredibly nice, the places beautiful and the Spanish attitude of taking it easy is growing on me. It just took me a few weeks to get used to it all (the first week and a half, only the price of planetickets stopped me from going home) : call it a miniature culture shock.

Luckily, that small shock has now turned into my new way of life: breakfast is small and sweet, lunch is around 3pm, la merienda is only after the siesta, and dinner before 9pm must mean something’s wrong. If a class doesn’t have a professor yet, you go get something to eat and enjoy your spare time. Look again tomorrow. Below 25°C means skinny jeans. Both a sweater and some ice-cold water are ever-present in your bag. Speaking about bags, there’s no need for one that’s big enough: everything sized A4 or larger is carried around separately. No matter what language the other person speaks, only answer in Spanish. The metro is made for scrutinizing people. And so on, and so forth…

Together with getting used to *enter a Spanish cliché because it’s most likely true*, I also had to get used to living with 7! roommates. Generally speaking not an easy feat, I’ll tell you that. Suddenly, a normal-sized kitchen feels like a tiny cupboard and it will never be actually quiet (hello earplugs). However, as soon as I got to know my compis¹, I also got to meet my new family: somehow being away from home doesn’t scare me as much anymore. When I wake up, I still get a hug. My afternoon tea and storytime has become an evening ritual but is still enjoyed in company. Downtime after dinner is spend on Marie’s bed (the price of having the largest room) instead of a couch in the living room. And homesickness is better ailed with a shoulder to cry on.

With all that being said, I proudly present (from left to right, top to bottom):

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Livy, Rachana (Marie’s lovely cousin from France), Edouard, me, Martha, Marie, Giacomo

Amalie, Elena, Charley (our downstairs neighbour who is present almost every night), and Clio (Martha’s friend who could just as well live with us)

 

Together we’re a weird and international bunch (the picture aboves features 7 to 10 nationalities, depending on your personal definition), and that’s putting it lightly. But someway, somehow, we make it work. All strange and endearing and funny and lovely and crazy in our own way: I wouldn’t want to change it for the world! (Imagine you’re in Friends. That’s exactly what it feels like 😉 )

Bye, doei, adiós, au revoir, tschüss, αντίο, farvel,… Greetings from the best compis you’ll ever meet.


¹ Colloquial Spanish for ‘compañeros de piso’: roommates.

3 thoughts on “Finally at ease

Leave a Reply

